Raining on a sunny day…

After waiting for what felt like ages, Easter break has finally arrived, and along with it, my trip to Livingstone. At first I was not that excited because I thought we were visiting a boring old waterfall and there will be nothing else to do. I was wrong.

So last Friday we have set off, and instead of driving for six hours, Mum and Dad decided to play posh and fly. Not a long flight at all, just a short hop to the south of Zambia on a tiny 25 seat plane. That was the first excitement of my trip because unlike a big airliner, this plane was all over the place and we had a really fun rollercoaster ride due to some turbulence on the way. I loved it. Best flight ever!

028030040

Our hotel was located in the middle of Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park, right on the banks of the Zambezi River. Not your standard kind of hotel. There were signs everywhere informing visitors of Crocs, hippos, snakes roaming the hotel grounds. In fact, we have seen quite a few hippos and crocs, but fortunately no snakes. I hate snakes.

049215

On the second day of our trip we went to see Victoria Falls and believe me, it was amazing.  It’s nearly 2 miles wide and the falling water makes thundering sound, creating huge cloud of mist that turns into really heavy rain that is blown in all directions by the wind. We got absolutely soaked, but it was so much fun. This place is really different from anywhere else I have seen. My favourite bit is rain on a sunny day, because near the fall feels like a really heavy downpour but once you get away it sunny and hot again. Hard to describe.

084093193

Besides the falls, there is a really old bridge that links Zambia with Zimbabwe.  The best thing about Livingstone bridge is all great fun activities that you can do, like for example 111 meters bungee jump. I was too young for that, but I was allowed to do zip wire slide over the gorge. Dad has done it with me and he was absolutely terrified! He was screaming like a school girl all the way. That was brilliant!

105202196

Dad and I went to see the boiling point, which is right at the bottom of the falls, so really walk down and even longer walk up. On the way we got chased by a big Baboon. These are definitely not friendly monkeys. They actually bark and make all sort of scary noises when you come too close to them.

Please have a look at my pictures. I had a really good time and I you ever have a chance, go and see for your self. You will love it!

That’s it for now friends, and thanks for reading.

REAxxx

Categories: Africa, Livingstone, Victoria Falls | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.